Vocab: Tandoori

I’ve been listening to a lot of Korean indie lately — which to me just means acoustic, spring-timey songs that sound like Instagram’s Walden filter in music form.

In any case, I keep hearing a song (or songs) with something like “Tandoori” in the lyrics. The word/phrase? has been stuck in my head for weeks. I knew the word came from a K-indie song, but the back of my mind points out: Tandoori is most definitely Indian food.

Behold, tandoori chicken

 …a popular Indian dish and Pakistani dish consisting of roasted chicken prepared with yogurt and spices. The name comes from the type of cylindrical clay oven, a tandoor, in which the dish is traditionally prepared.

via Flickr

As it turns out, however, I’m not crazy. “Tandoori” indeed also means something in Korean.

단둘이 | dandul-i | “two in private”, a private meeting

“Two in private”? Now that sounds like the start of a great love song.

Leave a Reply

